top of page

Application letter tips

If you spot an interesting ad for a  cooperative flat in Zurich, you should apply as soon as possible. As part of your application you may chose to submit a cover letter. This is usually a good idea, even if it is not always explicitly required. In the letter, you can introduce yourself and present your interests, values and personality. This will give the cooperative a much better idea of who you are.

 

If you need help writing an application letter for a cooperative flat, you've come to the right place! Our tips will ensure that your application letter is well received. This will improve your chances of getting the cooperative flat!

By the way: You can also use an application letter like this for 'normal' flats!

​1. Preparation is important

Before you write your application letter, you should also give it some thought. Above all, you should familiarise yourself with the cooperative. Study their website - do you fulfil all the criteria? (For example, pay attention to children, pets, income, etc.). Does the cooperative have any special features? (vegetable patch, playground, common room, summer party) You can refer to these in your letter and show that you would fit in perfectly!

2. Limit yourself to one A4 page

The cooperative will receive a large number of applications. They don't have time to read many very long letters. Keep it short and snappy - every sentence should convey important content. The application letter for the cooperative flat does not have to be long. It must have substance.

3. Include photo(s)

A picture is worth a thousand words! A nice photo (but please not too posed/edited) can convey your personality wonderfully. Perhaps you could choose a picture that shows you enjoying a hobby (hiking? gardening?)? Or a dynamic family picture? It's not about perfection, but about showing who you are.

4. Structure: I - You - We

This structure is suitable for any type of application letter! Me - You - We means: First write a part about yourself, then a paragraph about the cooperative (why it is so great) and finish with how you could get involved in the cooperative.

An example that leaves enough space for photo(s) on an A4 page can be found at the bottom of this page.

5. Be authentic

Lies are short-lived. You will most likely have to meet a representative of the cooperative for a personal interview and submit various documents. It is not worth lying in your application letter.

6. Have someone proofread your letter

An unfamiliar pair of eyes will often recognise small errors or stylistic impurities. Friends or acquaintances could also provide interesting input on your various commitments. "Hey, but you could start a cooperative knitting club or "What about your time with the volunteer fire brigade?" Such suggestions can be very valuable, because cooperatives value socially engaged people.

7. A few final points

Make sure that you fulfil the criteria for the free cooperative flat (number of people, pets, income, etc.) and submit your complete application on time. Adverts often go offline after just 24 hours. It is worth having all the documents ready and also preparing a letter in which you only need to change a few things (e.g. prepare the photo, "we" part and layout now and then just add a few things about the cooperative). If you are a little unsure about linguistic aspects, it is worth using software to help you.

An example

This is rather short, but certainly covers all points and leaves enough space for a great picture.

Dear ladies and gentlemen of the Mustergenossenschaft,

 

We, Musterina (30), Mustermax (34) and Musterbaby (1) are the Muster family from Musterdorf. Musterina works in the admin department at Muster AG. She is a passionate athlete and regularly takes part in competitions. She also loves nature and gardening. Unfortunately, she doesn't have a garden at the moment. Mustermax is a passionate electrician at Muster GmbH. He has played football with his friends every weekend since he was a teenager. He also coaches the kids' team on a voluntary basis. We have known each other since secondary school, have been happily married for 4 years and, since last year, there are now three of us with Musterbaby. As we would like to have another child, we are now looking for a cooperative flat. The Mustergenossenschaft is our first choice. We appreciate the family atmosphere it exudes. The playground looks great - Musterbaby would definitely have a lot of fun there and could make new friends. And the advertised flat is just perfect in terms of size and layout. The communal garden also appeals to us enormously.

 

We are socially engaged people and would love to get involved in the cooperative. Musterina would love to be active in the garden and pass on her botanical knowledge to the other members of the cooperative. Mustermax would certainly enjoy playing football with the kids on weekends. In short, it would be wonderful to become part of the Mustegenossenschaft.

 

We would be delighted to attend a viewing!

 

Sincerely,

The Muster family

bottom of page

top of page

Bewerbungsbrief Tipps

Wenn euch ein Inserat für eine freie Genossenschaftswohnung in Zürich, interessiert solltet ihr euch so schnell wie möglich bewerben. Achtet darauf, dass ihr alle benötigten Dokumente einreicht. Dabei ist ein Bewerbungsbrief eigentlich immer eine gute Idee, auch wenn er nicht immer explizit verlangt wird. Darin könnt ihr euch vorstellen und eure Interessen, Werte und Persönlichkeit präsentieren. So kann die Genossenschaft sich ein viel besseres Bild von euch machen. 

Wenn ihr Hilfe beim Verfassen eines Bewerbungsbriefes für eine freie Genossenschaftswohnung braucht so seid ihr hier richtig! Mit unseren Tipps stellt ihr sicher, dass euer Bewerbungsbrief gut ankommt. So verbessert ihr eure Chancen, die Genossenschaftswohnung zu bekommen!

Übrigens: Auch für ‘normale’ Wohnungen könnt ihr solch einen Bewerbungsbrief verwenden!

​1. Vorbereitung ist wichtig

Bevor ihr euren Bewerbungsbrief verfasst, solltet ihr auch ein paar Gedanken machen. Vor allem solltet ihr euch mit der Genossenschaft auseinandersetzen. Studiert ihre Webseite – erfüllt ihr alle Kriterien? (Achtet zB auf Kinder, Haustiere, Einkommen etc). Hat die Genossenschaft besondere Merkmale? (Gemüsebeet, Spielplatz, Gemeinschaftsraum, Sommerparty) Ihr könnt in eurem Brief darauf Bezug nehmen und aufzeigen, wieso genau ihr super reinpasst!

 

2. Packt alles auf eine A4 Seite

Die Genossenschaft erhält bestimmt sehr viele Bewerbungen. Sie hat keine Zeit für sehr lange Briefe. Haltet es kurz und knackig – jeder Satz sollte wichtigen Inhalt vermitteln. Der Bewerbungsbrief für die freie Genossenschaftswohnung muss nicht lang sein. Er muss Gewicht haben.

 

3. Fügt Foto(s) hinzu

Ein Bild sagt mehr als tausend Worte! Ein schönes Foto (aber bitte nicht zu gestellt/bearbeitet) kann eure Persönlichkeit wunderbar rüberbringen. Vielleicht wählt ihr ein Bild, das euch bei einem Hobby (Wandern? Gärtnern?) zeigt? Oder ein dynamisches Familienbild? Es geht nicht um Perfektion, sondern darum, zu zeigen wer ihr seid.

 

4. Struktur: Ich – Du – Wir

Diese Struktur passt zu jeder Art von Bewerbungsbrief! Ich – Du – Wir heisst: Schreibe zuerst einen Teil über euch, dann einen Paragraphen über die Genossenschaft (wieso sie so toll ist) und schliesse damit ab, wie ihr euch in die Genossenschaft einbringen könntet. 

Ein Beispiel, das auf einer A4 Seite genug Platz für Foto(s) lässt, findet ihr ganz am Ende dieser Seite

 

5. Seid authentisch

Lügen haben kurze Beine. Sehr wahrscheinlich werdet ihr eine Vertretung der Genossenschaft zu einem persönlichen Gespräch treffen und verschiedenste Dokumente einreichen müssen. Es lohnt sich nicht, im Bewerbungsbrief Unwahrheiten zu erzählen. 

 

6. Lasst den Brief gegenlesen

Oft erkennt ein fremdes paar Augen kleine Fehler oder stilistische Unreinheiten. Auch könnten Freunde oder Bekannte interessante Inputs zu eurem Engagement liefern. «Hey aber du könntest doch einen Genossenschafts-Strickclub gründen oder «Was ist mit deiner Zeit bei der freiwilligen Feuerwehr?» Solche Vorschläge können sehr wertvoll sein, denn Genossenschaften schätzen engagierte Personen.

 

7. Ein paar Punkte zum Schluss

Stellt sicher, dass ihr die Kriterien für die Wohnung (Anzahl Personen, Haustiere, Einkommen etc) erfüllt und reicht eure Bewerbung vollständig und rechtzeitig ein. Oft gehen Inserate schon nach 24 Stunden wieder offline. Es lohnt sich, sämtliche Dokumente bereitzuhalten und auch einen Brief, in welchem ihr nur noch ein paar Sachen ändern müsst, vorzubereiten (also z.B. Foto, Wir-Teil und Layout schon jetzt schreiben und dann nur noch ein paar Sachen zur Genossenschaft ergänzen). Falls ihr sprachlich etwas unsicher seid lohnt es sich, eine Grammatik-Software zu verwenden.

 

Ein Beispiel

Dies ist eher kurz, erfüllt aber sicher alle Punkte und lässt genug Platz für ein tolles Bild:

Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren der Mustergenossenschaft,

 

Wir, Musterina (30), Mustermax (34) und Musterbaby (1) sind die Familie Muster aus Musterdorf. Musterina arbeitet bei der Muster AG im HR. Sie ist leidenschaftliche Leichtathletin und nimmt regelmässig an Wettkämpfen teil. Zudem liebt sie die Natur und das Gärtnern. Leider fehlt ihr dazu momentan ein Garten. Mustermax ist Elektriker mit Herzblut bei der Muster GmbH. Seit der Jugend spielt er jedes Wochenende Fussball mit seinen Freunden. Auch trainiert er im Ehrenamt die Kids Mannschaft. Wir kennen uns seit der Sekundarschule, sind seit 4 Jahren glücklich verheiratet und mit Musterbaby seit letztem Jahr nun zu dritt. Da wir uns ein weiteres Kind wünschen suchen wir nun eine Genossenschaftswohnung. Die Mustergenossenschaft ist dabei unsere erste Wahl. Wir schätzen die familiäre Atmosphäre, die sie ausstrahlt. Der Spielplatz sieht ganz toll aus – Musterbaby hätte bestimmt ganz viel Spass dort und könnte neue Freunde finden. Und die ausgeschriebene Wohnung passt von der Grösse und vom Layout einfach perfekt. Auch spricht uns der Gemeinschaftsgarten enorm an. 

Wir sind sehr engagierte Menschen und würden uns liebend gerne in der Genossenschaft einbringen. Musterina würde gerne im Garten aktiv werden und den anderen Genossenschaftler*innen ihr botanisches Wissen übermitteln. Mustermax würde liebend gerne am Wochenende mit den Kindern der Genossenschaft ein paar Bälle kicken. Kurzum, es wäre einfach wunderbar, Teil der Mustergenossenschaft zu werden.

 

Wir würden uns über einen Besichtigungstermin enorm freuen!

 

Herzlich,

Die Familie Muster

bottom of page